Creating a List

Good Morning Monday-

I am not a complainer. Never have been. Never will be. I am a vent person (a “Ventor”). I had a really good weekend.  Got rid of junk I don’t need, cleaned the house a little bit, had dinner with my parents, went to our local art fair, purchased art from said fair, went to church and topped off the weekend with a trip to the rose park/duck pond with my beloved grandmother.

Somehow seeing her clears my mind. Perhaps it was hearing her recount her childhood. She looked down at the water and proclaimed, “you know, I never learned how to swim.” My number 2 child asked her why and she said it was because her father died when she was a baby and didn’t have a mother or father to teach her things. She wanted to be a nurse, she wanted to travel the world and see the things that she had read about. She was an avid reader.  She was raised in an orphange and quite frankly- she does have an excuse as why she didn’t get to accomplish some of her dreams.

So what is my excuse?

I have been thinking a lot about my last post. As you may or may not know I am an action jackson kind of person.  If you don’t like something the way it is. Then change it. Period. That simple.  Reinvent yourself. Tear yourself down and rebuild it to accommodate who you are.  Look at it this way.  We are constantly growing (or should be)  Who we are when we are 20 is not who we will be when we are 40.

Sort of like buying clothes.  You out grow them, emotionally, aesthetically and physically.  Who says you can’t reinvent yourself?

So that’s what I am going to do.

I am going to create the opposite of a bucket list.  Not that I think there is anything  wrong with a bucket list, but for me the emphasis on dying is not what it is about. It is about living true to who you are. So I am going to create a list of things that I am going to make myself accomplish to make sure that I stay me and don’t turn into someone else or someone that someone else wants me to be. And now to create the list……..

3 thoughts on “Creating a List

  1. Tiffany says:

    Well said, friend. I always love hearing about your grandma and miss our daily meetings 😥

  2. Julia says:

    Is dentist on the list ; ) I do love reading these by the way. I love how you said ” tear yourself down rebuild it”…..I truly feel that is what I have done in the last 3 years. Beginners struggles, temporary contracts, wondering where my job will be come next school year, paycut and all….it’s sooooooo been worth it.

  3. gorillabuns says:

    I’m in a rebuilding phase as well. Just not sure how I’m going to rebuild this thing.

    If anyone can do anything, it is you my dear.

Leave a Reply

